Kinross House is the first, and most important, neoclassical Palladian mansion built in Scotland. Described in Country Life Magazine as ‘the complete expression in stone of the Renaissance in Scotland’ the property was Sir William Bruce’s greatest masterpiece.
Sir William Bruce is regarded as the founder of classical architecture in Scotland, a career politician and gentleman architect who played his part in early 17th century royal and political intrigues. He was architect to King Charles II and amongst other renowned architectural projects, was responsible for rebuilding the Royal Palace of Holyroodhouse in Edinburgh, between 1674 and 1679, and adding major alterations to Thirlestane Castle, Hopetoun House and Caroline Park. He is often compared to Sir Christopher Wren and Inigo Jones and was mentor to William Adam.
Sir William Bruce created the designed landscape and planted the formal gardens ten years before he started construction of the house so that once the house was complete it would be set in a mature landscape. Construction of the house commenced in 1685.
Following the Bruce dynasty, the estate was purchased by George Graham in 1777 and passed through marriage to the Montgomery family. It remained in the family until 2011 when Mr Donald Fothergill acquired the property.
Mr Fothergill’s purchase heralded the beginning of a total renovation project of a magnitude that can only be described as a labour of love. Teams of specialists were carefully picked to return this magnificent building to its former glory whilst also providing it with state of the art capability.
The restoration work was completed in 2013 and the property was winner of the prestigious Historic Houses Association and Sotheby’s UK Restoration Award of the year. No expense has been spared to make this breathtaking property reflect Sir William Bruce’s vision for opulent entertaining which will only be seen and experienced by the few.